Skip to main content

Monday, September 19. Just One of Those Days

Ok so.  It's Monday morning and my husband's brass, impertinent, and boisterous alarm clock goes off at 5:00 AM. (Long pause while you take that in...)  Now...here's the thing.  HE DOESN'T HAVE TO WORK TODAY!!! His alarm clock goes off and he makes a big to do about getting his 6'2" self out of bed, still asleep, groaning and talking incoherently in a deep, raspy voice that sounds like he's playing in a 20 inch box fan; like you did when you were little.  And this whole dramatic episode wakes me up and annoys the crap outta me.  I'm laying there looking at him like he's an idiot. Seriously! And I love this man. So I say something like, "Just turn it off! I'm trying to sleep my last hour!" And he says something annoying about he's trying.  Now I have to try to force myself back to sleep.  Gee...thanks Honey.  What a way to start your Monday morning! ( I love you, Sweetheart. :-) )

I roll out of bed and get going when my alarm clock goes off an hour and fifteen minutes later. I really don't want to get out of bed.  I am one of those people who dreads going in to work.  There are two reasons for this.  First, I am not, never have been, and God-willing will never have to be a morning person.  It's just not in my chemical or genetic make-up. I'm just fine with that.  But unfortunately, until I can do what I do ;-) I have to do what they pay me to.  Second, I know I am going to a place where everyone is stressed out, rude, and demanding all day long.  Who wakes up thinking, "Yeah boy! I'm looking forward to that!?"  Still somehow, I manage to get up and get myself on the train, even though I am an empty drone of a person just going through the motions until about 10:00 AM when I start to wake up.  

The train ride was actually OK.  I waited on the platform a little too long for one, making me about 7 minutes late to work.  But nothing unreasonable or abnormal happened on the train. By this I mean, run, push, leap lady wasn't there,  there were no loud talkers, no cell phone convo's, no arguments, no seats either (of course), no pushing or shoving, no body odors, no one taking up two or more seats, no wasted coffee on the floor of the train car that everyone was forced to step in, no brown surprises on the stairs leading to and from the train, and no hurricanes, tornadoes, or nor'easters interrupting service. It was your regular stand up, hold on, get jerked around a little, become redundantly irritated, exit the train, and go to the office to work, type of commute. Fun.

All in all, it was one of those mornings where you dream of waking up, stretching, thanking God you are alive, get ready to get up, change your mind, turn over and text the boss that you're sick, and sleep in.  Eventually you wake up again, order some food, watch something entertaining on your laptop or the TV, think about showering but don't do it till about 3 PM, order some more food, watch something else good, Google something, take a nap, and get up and get ready for bed.  Like I said, you dream.  Rarely do things go according to plan (unless it were a perfect world) so you get up and trudge on.

Lesson:  "Mama said there'll be days like this..." (Thank you to The Shirelles for a great song!)

A Girl Changing The World

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Monday, September 26. Lady With An Attitude Coming Through!

Ok so.  It's bad enough that it's Monday.  Like many Americans, I had no intention of working a job that I can barely stand. I had dreams of having a fulfilling career and being someone important, happy, and well...for lack of a better word, fulfilled. I'm still on my path but never the less, it's Monday and I have to do what I have to do in the meanwhile.   So I'm on my way to my job :-) and everything is pretty normal (that's not necessarily good...)on the way.  I rush out of the house about 5 minutes late. Rush up the 4 blocks to the train.  Wait on the platform FOREVER for a train to come. Get on . Stand up and hold on for dear life.  Then, wait! What's this?! A seat has become available at the first train stop! And it's diagonally in front of me! I move toward it excited about closing my eyes for a few more minutes. I mean, I admit it, some of us should not be let loose on the world without 9 full hours of sleep or after 9:00 AM--whichever co...

Wednesday, September 21. I Came. I Sat. I Left.

Ok so.  Some days you just luck out.   I got up and got out of the house in time to be on time to work.  I step into the train car and there are seats.  I pause and glare at the seat before I sit because some New Yorkers leave all kinds of wet mess in the seats and once you sit in it, forgeddaboudit (the last definition in the video you just watched) ...you're contaminated.  So make sure you look before you sit!  My seat is empty so I sit in it.  I ride all the way to my train stop.  I exit the train.  I come in to work.   Now that's  when all the drama started. LOL But it's all good.  It's only a matter of time before I channel my inner David Allen Coe from his 1978  album, Family Album and email a you tube of him or Johnny Paycheck covering that famous song that inspired a film by the same name.  Hee hee Lesson:  Sometimes it actually all works out according to plan so don't give up yet! Remembe...

Wednesday, September 28. Uncomfortable Little Boy

Ok so. Many different types of people rely on the subway as public transportation to and fro the very important and diverse destinations they must get to. Places such as work, play, and school to name a few.  So if you live in New York City and you have a day job, you get up at an obscene hour in the morning, drag yourself out of the house and to the train, and look around for a seat, usually finding none available.  You stand up and hold onto the pole, which in most cases is located over the heads of those holding the proverbial power and are seated on the proverbial thrones also known as subway seats. One such royal subject was the little boy seated in front of me today who seemed to be uncomfortable with all of my cute, sexy self hovering over him. It's pathetic and sort of funny all at the same time.  Let me be honest, there really isn't anything cute or sexy about me at 7:00 in the morning, especially while I am standing up and trying to hold on for dear life on a "...